Good stocks cheap

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Just like to recommend an investing book I found. I have no relations with the author, and in fact, have not heard of him before.
https://www.amazon.com/Good-Stocks-Cheap-Confidence-Outperformance/dp/125983607X
(Can find the ebook on NLB also)

This is what I like about it:
Writer goes into details on both qualitative and quantitative analysis. Not just the usual repeated information that is found everywhere on the internet, but he actually goes into the details of how he does analysis, using an actual company as an example.

He doesn't assume that you have any prior knowledge. But do note that he drill down into details pretty fast, so newbies to financial statements may be lost halfway. Sometimes I need to reread a section several times.

He doesn't waste words, and describe things concisely. No flowery language etc. As a programmer, I appreciate this kind of prose. Also no words spent on promotion.

Book written in 2017 so very recent compared to some of the famous classics. 

Overall, I find this book most benefical to people with a few years of investing experience and have read all the usual famous books on investing, but lack the deeper insight that comes with longer experience. (That some of the more veteran VBers here have).
Its like having a uncle experienced in investing sit down with you and explain how he intepret numbers or identify moats.
Rainbow 
Thank you gzbkel,
I'm at chapter 5 now.
It's amazing read.

For those who preferred to watch:
Rainbow 
Good morning, valuebuddies.
Hope that everyone had a good night to welcome the beautiful day ahead.

Reading thru the glossary of this book this morning, a few stocks pop up into my mind.
In particular, Micro-Mechanics.

These gives me a structure to frame up Micro-Mechanics moat:
1. Backward integration
2. Breadth analysis
3. Forward integration
4. Ingrainedness
5. Vertically integrated

=========== Signature ===========

感恩 Thank you