Growth stocks and Price performance

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
As investors , we are keen to maximise our returns.
In turn, max returns need good price performance. 

I am still new to investing, in particular investing in growth companies (i.e. small or mid-cap penny stocks). 

I am trying to understand how to pick the right growth stocks for maximum returns. 

I have studied briefly how SG stock prices of such companies move up (not talking about down yet).

If you take HMI, Straco as examples, it seems to me such companies' stock went up to be multi-baggers due to catalysts such as :
1) a substantial and sustainable increase in revenue or EPS  and corresponding increase in profit margin.
2) announcement of expansion plans perceived to be lucrative. The price surge may be pricing in future earnings and must be maintained by a corresponding increase in revenue otherwise it may revert to the mean. 

Such catalysts can drive the price by a few folds, like "leveling-up" the stock.

If there are no such catalysts, the price may remain flat or range-bound for a few years. Worse, it may even drift down slowly. 

I also noticed it does not matter the P/E, P/B and net margin of growth companies. E.g. HMI has a P/B of 6 and P/E of > 20, net margin ~ 10%, and low net cash ,  while straco has much superior ratios and cash horde. Perhaps one need to compare the financials to peers in the same industry?

It seems that all it matters is the company can aggressively grow their revenue and profits, regardless of everything else. 

Is my view above correct? 

Would love to hear your opinions.