Clear the hogwash and whitewash

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Clear the hogwash and whitewash

Wishes for next year: More market transparency and independent views in the property sector
05:55 AM Dec 31, 2010
by Colin Tan

When I was a student, I believed everything I read in the papers. If it appeared in print, it had to be true. When I did my stint as a reporter, I realised that not every bit of important information we gathered came out in print. Sometimes, alternative or opposing views just did not go well with the story flow.

These days, I advise my student interns not to believe everything they read and to be discerning, more so now than in the past, as there is a lot more "noise" in the market these days. While reporters used to hassle news-makers for information, a lot more information is pushed to the media these days.

Marketing views seem to predominate nowadays. Higher-priced properties are automatically classified as prime housing or as belonging to the luxury segment. An 800 sq ft or even a 1,600 sq ft unit, no matter how exquisitely finished, cannot qualify as a luxury unit. If you tell a foreigner from one of the developed economies that you have just purchased one such "luxury" unit, they will have a different notion of what you own. If you then tell them it is only 800 sq ft, they will break into laughter.

Small units in the Central Business District are also not prime apartments. A more accurate description would be inner-city apartments.

Doubled-storeyed top floor units are also not automatically penthouses. A 1,600 sq ft unit split into two floors atop a block in a private housing project is definitely not a penthouse - it is a maisonette. And there are no penthouses in the HDB resale sector, no matter what the agents say. A penthouse is almost always a luxury unit.