Is there any good consumer product stock in SGX

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
(27-07-2016, 09:29 AM)CityFarmer Wrote: Retailing is more of an art than science, IMO. Go against text book practice, isn't always a bad thing. I am still learning on success story on retailing. I would like to highlight a case study of Zara, It has gone against few basic text book practices, and achieved outstanding success.

- Zara logistic cost per unit is expansive, but it focuses on speed.
- Stock-out, isn't a cost to be minimized, but a conscious strategy
- Retailers are normally asset-light, but Zara owns most of its manufacturing  and supply chain facilities.

https://www.tradegecko.com/blog/zara-sup...il-success

BTW, "customer management" means keeping in touch on customers' needs. Pricing is always an important part in retail biz. Both are standard retailing text book practices, aren't there?  Big Grin

From a textbook study, Zara's improvement is "process based" and this same model can be copied by other competitors to erode their advantage. I believe there are more fast fashion companies like H&M, Uniqlo, TopShop etc that is up and coming?

My "textbook" reference was actually referring to the strict definition of competitive moats. Having a "process based" or great HR/Mgt aren't really competitive moats, because it can be copied by competitors or the barrier isn't exactly too large to overcome.

The "pure" definition of competitive moat from the textbook is something like:
(1) Will you change your auditor if he decides to raise your price by 10mil next year? Hell no! if it can cost a 5% drop in stock price on my 100bil company when I announce it.
(2) Will you switch to drink Pepsi if the eatery doesn't have coke? (I would, but I realized my American colleagues don't)